Mental Health Awareness Week 2020

Logo courtesy of Ryan- twitter.com/ryanthebroski

We’re coming to the end of Mental Health Awareness Week and this year’s theme is kindness.

It goes without saying that any form of kindness is going to have an impact on mental health, whether that’s your own or someone else’s. I often think back to acts of kindness that have been shown to me and they always make me smile, it’s good to think back to a time when someone showed that they cared about you and your happiness.

The main one that sticks out for me is when I had to transfer to a different women’s refuge a few days before my 26th birthday. I didn’t know anybody and didn’t have any money because of moving so I hadn’t made any plans and had resigned myself to spending the day in the house doing nothing.

The other women who lived in the refuge surprised me with a cake and card on the morning of my birthday, which really meant a lot as I wasn’t expecting them to do anything. Then my sister messaged me to see if I wanted to do something with her for the day, I didn’t have any money to get the train there and back so one of the other women in the refuge gave me the money as a birthday gift so I could spend the day with my sister.

Nobody is ever having a good time if they have to go into a refuge so it was really touching that other people who were going through a bad time would take the time to make sure that I had at least one good day. My sister is one of the most selfless people I know and I’m always in awe at how kind she is to others and how she always looks out for everyone. No one had to do that for me, but they did, it was such a small gesture but it meant the world and still does. I still get a bit emotional thinking about it because it was one of the worst times of my life and other people did everything they could to make sure I had a nice birthday.

I always make a conscious effort to be kind to people, I think having my own mental health issues has made me more understanding of the fact that people can be feeling awful and be hiding it. I know from personal experience that one kind comment or gesture can be enough to turn someone’s day around, so I try and find a way to compliment someone or show my appreciation for them. If I like someone’s shoes or their hair or whatever, I try and make sure to tell them. I really encourage everyone else to do the same, it feels awkward at first, but the more you get used to it, the better you feel about it. There’s nothing like seeing someone’s face light up because you’ve noticed them and shown some form of appreciation!

We’re all obviously going through a bad time at the moment and I think that kindness is more important now than ever. I can’t really do anything practical to help because having decent lungs isn’t my forte and I have to limit going out, so I’ve been trying to make an effort to check up on people and just to speak to people. Sometimes it’s hard because introversion, but I try and push through it because I don’t know if people are feeling worse than me and hiding it. I’ve seen so many stories recently of people going out of their way to show acts of kindness and it really makes my heart happy to see it. Being on the receiving end of them is really nice too, it’s a good feeling to know that someone genuinely wants to know how you are and wants to help if needed.

This morning, my partner and I had a letter come in the post with a picture to colour in to relieve stress and a little handmade drink token from one of our friends, I’ll be forever grateful for it. I think it’s really lovely that they’re spreading joy during this time and bringing a smile to people’s faces and I love it! This is just one act of kindness that’s been shown but there’s countless others, I’d be here all day if I listed all the things people did for me during this time. I appreciate everything that everyone has done for me, it’s definitely kept my spirits up!

Not just this week, but every week, please be kind. You never know what someone else may be going through and your one act of kindness may just make somebody’s day or even save their life. It doesn’t have to be grand gestures, it could be a kind word or an offer to help someone who’s struggling. It’ll not only help their mental health, but also yours, and who doesn’t want to help their own mental health?

As always, if you ever want someone to talk to, feel free to contact me, I’m always happy to help! 💜

Leave a comment